Exhibition Information:

Artist: Carmina Correa

Exhibition: A Beach in Symmetry and A Breach in Symmetry

Media: Mixed Media

Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Max L. Gatov Gallery East

Website: N/A

Instagram: N/A

About the Artist:

Carmina Correa is currently a senior at CalState Long Beach and is working toward obtaining her BFA from the School of Arts Sculpture Program. She plans on attending graduate school, but not directly after graduating. The schools she is considering on going to are UC Berkley, UC Irvine, and UC San Diego. Correa was raised as a Roman Catholic and is Filipino American. Her background of ethnic tradition and history are what she uses as inspiration for her art. She is also a type 2 diabetic which can be connected to her ethnic history back to the time of colonial Spain colonizing the Philippines.

Analysis:

Stepping into the exhibition and examining Carmina Correa’s work was like seeing a sculptural representation of someone’s own background and life. Each of her pieces contain a lot of personal background and ideas. For example, her confession box was a nod to the Roman Catholic background she was raised with and what was inside the confession box was a reference to her own personal opinion and views. Typically inside would be a priest as one knees to confess ones sins but in hers, was personal items such as stuffed animals along with religious candles. Also, her sugar piece connected to her type 2 diabetes and help a lot of personal background as working on the sugar piece trains her brain to dislike sugar.

Upon meeting Correa, I noticed how surely she spoke and her confidence. This can be seen in her work as it clearly projects her aim to the viewer. For her confession box, it showed how confession doesn’t have to be a daunting and scary thing that Roman Catholics are raised to see it as. In the Roman Catholic sense of confession, there is a pressure and a fear that individuals feel as they enter to ask for forgiveness. But what Correa does shows that confession is a part of life and is not as daunting as some think. The stuffed animals and religious candles she places in the area where the priest usually is explains that. Confession happens when we are with the ones that are closest to us–it comes out almost naturally and is weight lifting instead of stressful.

Being raised in a Roman Catholic family as well, I really related to Correa’s piece with the confession box. I too feel a lot of pressure and fear before I go to confession in church. There is a lot of stress as I enter and confess my wrongdoings to a priest that has no idea who I am other than a fellow Catholic who has sinned. Her piece and the message it projected spoke to me because it reminded me that confessing isn’t as hard as I was raised to think it was. It reminded me that those who I fine comfort in can listen to my confessions and its almost better in a sense because those who know me will understand me along with listen to me. In my opinion, while it is good to go to confession in church and be given penance to be forgiven by a priest, confessing to close loved ones holds a lot of meaning because one needs more than forgiveness–sometimes one needs understanding as well.

